The fortress above the lake. Sketches of the hisory of Konigsberg architecture: the Dohna tower and its surroundings"

Avenir Ovsyanov, 88 pages

The book of A. Ovsyanov – famous expert of history Konigsberg-Kaliningrad and specialist in European fortifications – presents history of the district surrounding the Amber Museum. Among "witnesses" of this history, there are fortification, educational, museum, industrial objects of the former Rossgarten: the Dohna and Wrangel Towers, Rossgarten Gates, Grolman Bastion, Kronprinz-Caserne, Upper Lake and Lower Pond, Mendtahl liqueur fabric, the Concert Hall, Konigsberg Library, Konigsberg fortress museum.

The history of constructions and city spaces is interlaced with biographies of people, whose names still live in their titles: A.Nevsky, A.Vasilevsky, Albert of Brandenburg, F.C.Dohna, F.E.G. von Wrangel, A.Sergeev, I.Chernyachovsky, G.I.D.Scharnhorst, A.W.N. Gneisenau, M.Kutuzov.

The book includes many rare illustrations that accompany to the exiting far and near past of the city territory around the Dohna Tower.

Ovsyanov A.. The fortress above the lake. Sketches of the history of Konigsberg architecture: the Dohna tower and its surroundings". – Kaliningrad: Kaliningrad Regional Amber Museum, 2012. – 88 p.: il. – ISBN 978-5-903920-16-7.

Русский

«Крепость над озером. Очерки истории архитектуры Кёнигсберга: башня Дона и ее окрестности»

Авенир Петрович Овсянов, 88 страниц

В книге А.П. Овсянова – известного знатока истории Кёнигсберга-Калининграда и специалиста по европейской фортификации – представлена история района, окружающего Музей янтаря. Среди «свидетелей» этой истории – фортификационные, образовательные, музейные, промышленные объекты бывшего Росгартена: башни Дона и Врангеля, Росгартенские ворота, бастион Грольман, казарма Кронпринц, Верхнее озеро и Нижний пруд, ликёрная фабрика Мендталя, концертный зал, Королевская библиотека, Кёнигсбергский крепостной музей.

История сооружений и городских пространств переплетается с биографиями людей, чьи имена до сих пор живут в их названиях: А. Невский, А.М. Василевский, Альбрехт Бранденбургский, Ф.К. Дона, Ф.Э.Г. фон Врангель, А.А. Сергеев, И.Д. Черняховский, Г.И.Д. Шарнхорст, А.В.Н. Гнейзенау, М.И. Кутузов.

Книга содержит множество редких иллюстраций, сопровождающих увлекательное путешествие в далёкое и недавнее прошлое городской территории, окружающей Музей янтаря.

Овсянов А.П. Крепость над озером. Очерки истории архитектуры Кёнигсберга: башня Дона и ее окрестности. – Калининград: Калининградский областной музей янтаря, 2012. – 88 с.: ил. – ISBN 978-5-903920-16-7.

Русский